Foundation in Computing

Choosing the right career at a tender age of 16 or 17 can be a daunting task. Many students are left with the difficult task of making that choice without being sufficiently equipped with the necessary details to make an informed choice.

Bearing that in mind, the Foundation Program is designed to cater for the needs of the students taking into account the following considerations:

  • To provide good quality Pre-University education that prepares the students to meet the demands of undergraduate study
  • To incorporate a certain degree of flexibility where students can make their choice of selecting a discipline at a later stage rather than at the beginning of the course
  • Subjects such as Study Skills and Critical Thinking Skills are added to give the students an edge over others
  • Extracurricular activities as well as good pastoral care are emphasized to ensure that students obtain a holistic education
  • To provide a conducive environment for study as well as to equip them with excellent facilities


Subject Listing


  • 36 credit hours
  • 2 semesters
  • 14 weeks per semester
  • 12 subjects

Semester 1 (6 Core = 18 credit hours)

  • English I (3 credit hours)
  • Introduction to Computing (3 credit hours)
  • Introduction to Information Systems (3 credit hours)
  • Practical IT Skills (3 credit hours)
  • Algebra and Calculus (3 credit hours)
  • Social Media (3 credit hours)

Semester 2 (6 Core = 18 credit hours)

  • English II
  • Introduction to Multimedia
  • Introduction to E-business
  • Introduction to Algorithm & Problem Solving
  • Discrete Mathematics
  • .Net Technology
Entry Requirements

SPM – A minimum of 6Bs including mathematics


Other equivalents education level


January, March/April, May, September

Partner Universities
United Kingdom

  • University of Essex
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • Bangor University
  • Northumbria University
  • University of Liverpool
  • University of Surrey
  • Newcastle University
  • Queen’s University of Belfest
  • University of Leeds
  • Aberysywyth University
  • Glyndwr University
  • Cardiff University – Cardiff Business School
  • Swansea University
  • University of the West of England, Bristol
  • University of Portsmouth
  • University of Chester
  • Middlesex University
  • Teesside University
  • York St John University
  • Leeds Beckett University
  • University of Derby
  • University of London International Programmes
  • Anglia Ruskin University International Programmes
  • University of Nottingham (Malaysia Campus)
  • INTO University of East Anglia
  • INTO University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow Caledonian University
  • INTO University of Manchester (NCUK)
  • INTO University of Newcastle
  • INTO Queen’s University


  • Direct entry subject to meeting universities’ requirements

*Admission on case to case basis